ISO_8859-16(7) Linux Programmer's Manual ISO_8859-16(7)


iso_8859-16 - ISO 8859-16 character set encoded in octal, decimal, and hexadecimal


The ISO 8859 standard includes several 8-bit extensions to the ASCII character set (also known as ISO 646-IRV). ISO 8859-16, the "Latin Alphabet No. 10" is used to encode Central and Eastern European Latin characters and is not implemented yet by any program vendors.

ISO 8859-16 supports the following languages: Albanian, Bosnian, Croatian, English, Finnish, German, Hungarian, Irish, Polish, Romanian, Slovenian and Serbian.

Also note that the following Cyrillic-based languages have one-to-one transliterations to Latin 10: Macedonian and Serbian.

ISO 8859 alphabets

The full set of ISO 8859 alphabets includes:
ISO 8859-1 West European languages (Latin-1)
ISO 8859-2 Central and East European languages (Latin-2)
ISO 8859-3 Southeast European and miscellaneous languages (Latin-3)
ISO 8859-4 Scandinavian/Baltic languages (Latin-4)
ISO 8859-5 Latin/Cyrillic
ISO 8859-6 Latin/Arabic
ISO 8859-7 Latin/Greek
ISO 8859-8 Latin/Hebrew
ISO 8859-9 Latin-1 modification for Turkish (Latin-5)
ISO 8859-10 Lappish/Nordic/Eskimo languages (Latin-6)
ISO 8859-11 Latin/Thai
ISO 8859-13 Baltic Rim languages (Latin-7)
ISO 8859-14 Celtic (Latin-8)
ISO 8859-15 West European languages (Latin-9)
ISO 8859-16 Romanian (Latin-10)

ISO 8859-16 characters

The following table displays the characters in ISO 8859-16 (Latin-10), which are printable and unlisted in the ascii(7) manual page. The fourth column will only show the proper glyphs in an environment configured for ISO 8859-16.


ascii(7), iso_8859-1(7), iso_8859-15(7), iso_8859-2(7)
ISO 8859-16 (Latin 10) Resources http://bucovina.chem.tue.nl/fonturi/index-en.html


This page is part of release 3.53 of the Linux man-pages project. A description of the project, and information about reporting bugs, can be found at http://www.kernel.org/doc/man-pages/.
2012-08-05 Linux